Some day home…

i don’t really care 

am not holding my breath 

about what they’re going to do

some day. . .some day is

homeless women’s time

between sunday and monday

where we’re trapped on ice

what they’re going to do

about homelessness someday

doesn’t help us now

I have been this way

for more than four long years now

will i freeze to death and die

without dignity in my car

before they do something

celiasue Hecht

1-17-19

Here’s what i miss the most:

A kitchen to cook in

with a stove, an oven, a refrigerator

a fireplace to toast marshmallows on

a comfy chair to raise my swollen legs

a bed to sleep and dream on

and cuddle my sweet puppy dog in

a place to belong and go to

a sanctuary to rest inside

somewhere to have a party or invite friends

a home of my very own 

My Pappy (dad) used to say that as long as he was alive, I’d have a home but he’s been gone a long time now. 

Cici  the Polka dot princess approved the following message:

My mama and I need a home. We’ve been together for 12 years. She rescued me from a bad situation when I was just six months old. And took care of me after a car accident, tore my ACL’s, got skunked, and more. She is not a spring chicken and has limited funds but she feeds me, walks me and gives me treats. I wag my tail and try to be a good companion and best friend. She thinks I’m sweet and good and lovable most of the time. But I can’t walk or feed myself. Well, I think I can and try to supervise but we agree to disagree.

I’m a dog and I love to make people happy, I love humans and the little ones and show them my belly whenever I can. I give lots of doggie kisses and here’s the thing, we Really need a home. My mama is a senior, like me, and she needs some urgent medical care, plus her chronic pain has come back after 16 years and I need a foster home or dog boarding while she gets back on her two feet again. Me, I’ve got four paws.

 

photo on 1-17-19 at 12.54 pm #3

My vet Dr. Dani just gave me a cool new coat for the winter. It is plaid and outside it is cold, rainy and windy and kind of scary with thunder and lightning.  I can’t get comfortable in the car because it is cramped and crowded and messy. Ok, I do paw and nose things around and then can’t find a comfy place to lie down in. We would have more room in a camper / home and I miss having a home… 

 

photo on 1-19-19 at 8.17 pm #2

We appreciate any and all donations. Right now, we need doggie food (yum yum’s for my belly), medicine for me and mama and a gently used camper home, cottage, granny unit.  Thank you.

 

screen shot 2018-10-17 at 10.18.33 am

PS: Mama would LOVE to find a new job if you know of one (telecommuting and/or willing to relocate from CA). She can do a lot of things! (she lost her newsletter editor job for an international nonprofit in May due to a major donor loss). She is a published writer, newspaper and newsletter editor and does PR, too. She is media and computer savvy and has been published in lots of magazines and newspapers like O, Vox media, Entrepreneur, Parents, Canine Coastal and more. We wrote the dog travel blog Have Dog Blog Will Travel for ten years. We LOVE to Travel and Beaches and Homes.

 

Mama’s clips:

https://celiasuewriter.wordpress.com/2018/12/06/celiasues-writing-credentials/

 

https://apetreporter.wordpress.com/2018/08/15/selected-clips-of-cs-hecht/

 

Mama wrote this three years ago

(Stats: there are 1,000+ women over 50 without homes, many with doggies, in Monterey, CA and 50% of those without homes in USA are 50+ … also 50% of women without homes do not have homes due to domestic violence/abuse)…

https://www.vox.com/first-person/2016/9/29/12941348/homeless-over-50-statistic

 

Woof woof woof !!!

https://www.paypal.me/CeliaSueHechtCA

 

 

More about seniors without homes:

 

https://www.aisp.upenn.edu/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/Emerging-Crisis-of-Aged-Homelessness.pdf

Leave a comment